steakpediaThe reference on steakENESVIJA

Steakhouses›Steakhouses in Tokyo›Omotesando Ukai-tei

Teppanyaki · Jingumae (Omotesando) · Tokyo

Omotesando Ukai-tei

My passport

Omotesando Ukai-tei cooks Japanese Black beef selected by the Ukai group on iron griddles, one of them in each of its seven private rooms, on the fifth floor of the GYRE building.

OpenNot yet visited · facts from 8 sourcesNo paid rankings

By Inès Vacher · Steakpedia editorial voice · Who writes

Why go01

Go for teppan in its most private form: every private room has its own griddle and its own cook, and the glassed-in counter looks out over Omotesando avenue. The room is built from the space of a 150-year-old merchant's house moved from Kanazawa, furnished in art deco, with lacquered beams and columns, walls plastered in bengala red and a mosaic wall. Tabelog gave the house its Bronze award every year from 2017 to 2020 and named it to its steak lists in 2021, 2022, 2024 and 2025; its score stood at 3.70 from 1,124 reviews on 25 October 2026. JTB Global Marketing & Travel reports a Michelin star for eight consecutive years, up to the 2015 Tokyo guide.

What to order02

  • Ukai gensen-gyū lunch course
  • Seasonal dinner course
  • Gokujō-gyū dinner course
Agednot stated
Fireteppan griddle
BreedJapanese Black
Gradenot stated
Pricenot stated
Opened2007

02What to order

  • Ukai gensen-gyū lunch course¥13,200; with lobster ¥16,500, with abalone ¥19,800.
  • Seasonal dinner courseServed all day at ¥27,500; with abalone ¥33,000, and a special dinner course at ¥38,500.
  • Gokujō-gyū dinner course¥27,500, built on the house's superior beef, which comes as fillet or sirloin.
  • Kobe beef special courseA seasonal course with Kobe beef at ¥55,000; book at least three days ahead.

03The beef

The beef is Japanese Black, and the house sorts it under three names. Ukai gensen-gyū is the beef selected by the group and runs through the courses; Ukai gokujō-gyū is its superior beef, served in two cuts, fillet and sirloin; Kobe beef appears in the special course. The sources give no carcass grade, farm or ageing period for any of the three, so read the first two as the house's own labels rather than grades. The number: three beefs, two cuts.

04The fire

Teppan. Every private room has a griddle of its own, with a cook dedicated to that room.

05The story

Omotesando Ukai-tei opened on 2 November 2007 on the fifth floor of Omotesando GYRE. It belongs to the Ukai group, born in Hachiōji in December 1964, whose company history lists the Omotesando house after Ginza Ukai-tei, opened in 2003. The corridor displays French perfume bottles from the collection of the Hakone Venetian Glass Museum, and the art nouveau lounge has a hanging garden that faces the keyaki, the zelkova trees of the avenue.

06The practical

There are 76 seats: 22 at the counter and seven private rooms for four, six or eight. Courses are for two or more and there is a children's course, though the counter does not take children aged 12 or under. The house closes on Wednesdays, on the first and third Tuesday of the month and over the year end. Booking is online, as Tabelog shows the phone line as closed, and payment is by credit card only. Service is 13 %, rising to 15 % from 1 December 2026; cancelling a course costs 50 % the day before and 100 % on the day.

Address
Omotesando GYRE 5F, 5-10-1 Jingumae, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo
Phone
+81 3-5467-5252
Website
ukai.co.jp
Directions
Google Maps ↗

Where is Omotesando Ukai-tei?

On the fifth floor of Omotesando GYRE, 5-10-1 Jingumae, Shibuya-ku.

How much is Omotesando Ukai-tei?

Lunch courses start at ¥13,200 and dinner courses at ¥27,500; the Kobe beef special course is ¥55,000. Service is 13 %, and 15 % from 1 December 2026.

Does Omotesando Ukai-tei have private rooms?

Yes: seven, for four, six or eight guests, each with its own griddle and cook.

Does Omotesando Ukai-tei have a Michelin star?

JTB Global Marketing & Travel reports a star for eight consecutive years up to the 2015 Tokyo guide; its current Michelin status was not confirmed for this page.

07In Tokyo’s selections

08Sources

award.tabelog.com · tabelog.com · ukai.co.jp · ukai.co.jp · ukai.co.jp · edinetdb.jp · gltjp.com · jtbgmt.com
Last verified 25 Oct 2026.