steakpediaThe reference on steakENESVIJA

Steakhouses›Steakhouses in Tokyo›Lawry's The Prime Rib Akasaka

American chophouse · Akasaka · Tokyo

Lawry's The Prime Rib Akasaka

My passport

Lawry's Akasaka starts with a rib eye of about 7 kg, wet-aged for 40 days, roasted for three hours and carved at the table from a silver cart.

OpenNot yet visited · facts from 6 sourcesNo paid rankings

By Inès Vacher · Steakpedia editorial voice · Who writes

Why go01

Book Lawry's for prime rib served one way since 1938, when the first Lawry's opened in Beverly Hills as the first US restaurant devoted only to prime rib. The silver cart's design, the brand says, has not changed in 80 years; in Akasaka carvers certified by Lawry's slice the meat, with Yorkshire pudding baked in the prime rib's fat. Tabelog placed the house on its Tabelog 100 Steak & Teppanyaki EAST list in 2024 and 2025, with a score of 3.69 from 1,550 reviews (25 October 2026).

What to order02

  • Lawry Cut, 300 g
  • California Cut or English Cut
  • Diamond Jim Brady Cut, 690 g
Aged40 days
Firebroiler
Breednot stated
Gradenot stated
Pricenot stated
Opened2017

02What to order

  • Lawry Cut, 300 gThe house cut of prime rib: ¥13,000 on the October 2026 menu, tax included, 10 % service extra; ¥15,000 from 1 December 2026.
  • California Cut or English CutSmaller portions: the California Cut is 180 g at ¥9,000; the English Cut is three slices of 65 g at ¥11,000.
  • Diamond Jim Brady Cut, 690 gThe largest prime rib on the list, ¥20,000; ¥23,000 from December.
  • RibeyeBone-In Rib Eye, 800 gBlack Angus from the three ribs nearest the sirloin, broiled with salt only; listed at ¥24,000 from 1 December 2026.
  • Original Spinning Bowl SaladSpun at the table as the dressing goes in; the house says Lawry's was the first in the US to serve salad before the main course.

03The beef

The prime rib begins as a rib eye of about 7 kg per piece. Lawry's wet-ages it for 40 days, rubs it with Lawry's Seasoned Salt and salt, and rests it for two to three days before it goes into the oven. The bone-in rib eye steak is Black Angus, taken only from the three ribs closest to the sirloin. The sources do not state the prime rib's grade or farm. The number: 40 days, wet.

04The fire

The prime rib roasts for three hours in a convection oven; the rib eye steak goes under an American broiler at close to 900 degrees, seasoned only with salt.

05The story

Lawrence L. Frank and Walter Van de Kamp opened Lawry's on La Cienega in Beverly Hills on 15 June 1938; prime rib came with Yorkshire pudding and mashed potatoes for US$1.25. Japan's first Lawry's opened on 20 April 2001 in Akasaka Twin Tower, with 300 seats and an 11 m ceiling, and closed on 28 March 2014 for the rebuilding of the tower, moving to Ebisu. The present Akasaka restaurant opened on 29 September 2017; the brand calls it the newest of its 13 restaurants. Wonder Table runs it; the head chef is Fumihiko Nakamura.

06The practical

Lawry's is on the third floor of Akasaka Intercity AIR, connected to exit 14 of Tameike-Sannō station. The main room seats 220 under a central chandelier, with three private rooms and the Frank Bar; Tabelog counts 248 seats in all. Lunch is 11:30–15:00, from 11:00 at weekends; dinner 17:00–22:00. Payment is cashless only, there is no dress code, and booking is online.

Address
Akasaka Intercity AIR 3F, 1-8-1 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo
Phone
+81 50-1807-6745
Website
lawrys.jp
Directions
Google Maps ↗

How long is the prime rib aged at Lawry's Akasaka?

40 days, wet-aged, on a rib eye of about 7 kg; it is then seasoned and rested for two to three days before a three-hour roast.

How much is prime rib at Lawry's Akasaka?

On the October 2026 menu the Lawry Cut (300 g) is ¥13,000, tax included, plus 10 % service; from 1 December 2026 it is ¥15,000.

When did Lawry's open in Tokyo?

The first Lawry's in Japan opened in Akasaka on 20 April 2001; the current Akasaka restaurant opened on 29 September 2017.

Does Lawry's Akasaka take cash?

No. Payment is cashless only.

07In Tokyo’s selections

08Sources

award.tabelog.com · tabelog.com · lawrys.jp · lawrys.jp · lawrys.jp · cdn.shopify.com
Last verified 25 Oct 2026.