steakpediaThe reference on steakENESVIJA

Steakhouses›Steakhouses in Tokyo›Okadamae (Niku Kappo Okadamae)

Other · Azabu-Juban · Tokyo

Okadamae (Niku Kappo Okadamae)

My passport

For the evening when you want a whole dinner built from Japanese beef, Okadamae in Azabu-Jūban serves one course, at one counter of 16 seats, in two sittings.

OpenNot yet visited · facts from 8 sourcesNo paid rankings

By Lena Sterling · Steakpedia editorial voice · Who writes

Why go01

Okadamae calls itself a niku kappō, a Japanese kappō counter devoted to meat, and it runs on a single course with no à la carte, so the only choice you make is the time, 18:00 or 20:00. The name means 'in front of Okada': at an earlier job of chef Kenichiro Okada, guests would ask to be seated facing him. The course moves through Kobe, Matsusaka and Ōmi beef in many forms, from consommé to sukiyaki, with steaks from a charcoal oven in view of the counter. World's 101 Best Steak Restaurants placed it at No. 86 in 2025, and the house cites the list's Best of Japan award from 2022.

What to order02

  • The chef's seasonal course
  • Unimenchi
  • Kobe tongue sashimi and Kobe double consommé
Agednot stated
Firecharcoal
BreedJapanese Black
Gradenot stated
Price$$$$
Openednot stated

02What to order

  • The chef's seasonal course¥45,100 including tax, service extra, on TableCheck; Savor Japan lists ¥41,000 with tax plus 15 % service, and an average spend of ¥50,000.
  • UnimenchiA menchi-katsu of 100 % beef with bafun sea urchin from Hokkaidō; the course lists it with uni from Nemuro.
  • Kobe tongue sashimi and Kobe double consomméTwo of the Kobe dishes on the course: the tongue comes with truffle.
  • Assorted charcoal steaksThe steak course, from the Spanish charcoal oven.
  • Matsusaka sukiyakiSirloin sukiyaki in the Kansai style, followed in the course listing by rice with yukhoe and caviar.

03The beef

The beef is Japanese Black. Savor Japan names Matsusaka, Ōmi and Kobe; World's 101 Best Steak Restaurants adds Sendai beef to those three. On the course, Kobe appears as tongue sashimi and as a double consommé, and Matsusaka as the sirloin for sukiyaki, so a single evening covers several of Japan's beef brands. The sources give no grade or ageing period.

04The fire

The steaks are grilled over charcoal in an oven made in Spain, placed where the counter can watch it.

05The story

Kenichiro Okada, owner and chef, began in a yakiniku restaurant where he worked as a student. He opened Chanto in Shinsaibashi in 1993, took it to Yokohama in 1997 and opened Ken's Dining in Nishi-Azabu in 1998. In 2015 he opened The Innocent Carvery, also in Nishi-Azabu and also in this guide, and after it Okadamae, on a 14 February; Savor Japan, the source for that history, does not give the year.

06The practical

The 16 counter seats are in the basement of the Rune Azabujuban Building, which the house's own site spells Lune, three minutes' walk from Azabu-Jūban station on the Namboku and Ōedo lines. Booking is required and goes through the web form, for the 18:00 or 20:00 sitting. Children from primary-school age are welcome and eat the same course as the adults, so this is a counter you can bring the family to; the room is non-smoking. The house lists its closing days as irregular, while Savor Japan gives Sundays and public holidays, so check your date when you book.

Address
Rune Azabujuban Building B1F, 1-5-23 Azabujuban, Minato-ku, Tokyo
Phone
+81 3-3478-0338
Website
okadamae.jp
Directions
Google Maps ↗

Does Okadamae have an à la carte menu?

No. It serves one seasonal course, at 18:00 or 20:00, by reservation only.

How much is dinner at Okadamae?

TableCheck lists the course at ¥45,100 including tax, with service extra; Savor Japan gives an average spend of ¥50,000.

What beef does Okadamae serve?

Japanese Black beef: the sources name Kobe, Matsusaka and Ōmi, and World's 101 Best Steak Restaurants adds Sendai.

Can children eat at Okadamae?

Yes, from primary-school age; they eat the same course as the adults.

07In Tokyo’s selections

08Sources

enprimeurclub.com · enprimeurclub.com · savorjapan.com · okadamae.jp · tablecheck.com · savorjapan.com · savorjapan.com · savorjapan.com
Last verified 25 Oct 2026.