steakpediaThe reference on steakENESVIJA

Steakhouses›Steakhouses in Tokyo›Ginza Ukai-tei

Teppanyaki · Ginza · Tokyo

Ginza Ukai-tei

My passport

Every course at Ginza Ukai-tei is built around Japanese Black beef, and the seasonal menu moves up to selected Kobe beef; the house calls its cooking teppan ryōri, griddle cuisine.

OpenNot yet visited · facts from 7 sourcesNo paid rankings

By Inès Vacher · Steakpedia editorial voice · Who writes

Why go01

Ginza Ukai-tei is the Ginza teppanyaki house of the Ukai group, open since December 2003; on 25 October 2026 Tabelog scored it 3.95 from 1,432 reviews. Tabelog gave it a Bronze award in 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020, and named it to its Tabelog 100 steak lists in 2021 and 2022 and to the steak and teppanyaki EAST list in 2024 and 2025. Book it for a set menu with a cook at the plate: the private rooms each have a dedicated cook, and dessert and coffee move to a separate room.

What to order02

  • Abalone steamed in rock salt
  • Seasonal course
  • Ukai gokujō-gyū course
Agednot stated
Fireteppan griddle
BreedJapanese Black
Gradenot stated
Pricenot stated
Opened2003

02What to order

  • Abalone steamed in rock saltAwabi no ganen-mushi, the house speciality: abalone steamed under a mound of salt. It also names a lunch course at ¥19,800.
  • Seasonal course¥55,000, with selected Kobe beef as the main plate.
  • Ukai gokujō-gyū course¥27,500, built on the house's top beef and the produce of the season.
  • Special lunch and Special course¥13,200 at lunch; ¥38,500 for the Special course. All courses are for two or more, drinks not included.

03The beef

The house says the main plate of every course is Japanese Black beef, kuroge wagyu, of the highest quality, and the ¥55,000 seasonal course names selected Kobe beef. Ukai gokujō-gyū is the house's name for its top beef. Beyond breed and brand, the menu does not state a carcass grade, a marbling score or a farm, so the label to hold on to is the breed. In 2014 Metropolis described the wagyu served in cubes with fried garlic, black pepper and garlic rice. The number to keep is the price of the Kobe course: ¥55,000.

04The fire

The fire is a teppan, an iron griddle. The counter has a circular plate designed around the image of the deep sea, and in the private rooms a dedicated cook works the plate in front of the table.

05The story

The Ukai group began in December 1964 with Ukai Toriyama in Hachiōji, and opened its first restaurant under the Ukai-tei name, Hachiōji Ukai-tei, in December 1974. Ginza Ukai-tei followed in December 2003; the group then opened Azamino (2005), Omotesando (2007), Kaohsiung in Taiwan (2017) and Roppongi (2018). The room keeps a keyaki beam more than a hundred years old, a mosaic wall and antique Japanese and Western furniture.

06The practical

Ginza Ukai-tei is on the ground floor of the Jiji Tsushin Building, 5-15-8 Ginza. There are 94 seats: 22 at the counter and 9 semi-private rooms, with rooms for 4, 6, 8 and 10 to 20; the whole restaurant is not hired out. Lunch starts at 12:00 (11:30 on Saturdays and holidays), dinner runs 17:00–21:30, and it closes on Sundays, two Mondays a month and over the year end. Book online. Cancelling a course costs 50 % the day before and 100 % on the day. Service is 13 %, rising to 15 % from 1 December 2026.

Address
Jiji Tsushin Building 1F, 5-15-8 Ginza, Chuo-ku, Tokyo
Phone
+81 3-3544-5252
Website
ukai.co.jp
Directions
Google Maps ↗

What beef does Ginza Ukai-tei serve?

Japanese Black beef is the main plate of every course, and the ¥55,000 seasonal course serves selected Kobe beef. The menu does not publish a grade.

How much is a course at Ginza Ukai-tei?

From ¥13,200 at lunch to ¥55,000 for the seasonal course, for two or more, drinks not included; service is 13 %, 15 % from 1 December 2026.

What is Ukai-tei's signature dish?

Abalone steamed in rock salt, awabi no ganen-mushi.

When did Ginza Ukai-tei open?

In December 2003. The Ukai group dates from 1964, and its first Ukai-tei opened in Hachiōji in 1974.

07In Tokyo’s selections

08Sources

award.tabelog.com · tabelog.com · edinetdb.jp · ukai.co.jp · ukai.co.jp · ukai.co.jp · metropolisjapan.com
Last verified 25 Oct 2026.