steakpediaThe reference on steakENESVI

Steakhouses›Steakhouses in Chicago›Bavette's Bar & Boeuf

American chophouse · River North · Chicago

Bavette's Bar & Boeuf

My passport

Black Angus at the 2012 opening, with a Prime ribeye dry-aged in house: the animal is named, the days are not.

Temporarily closedNot yet visited · facts from 11 sourcesNo paid rankings

By Inès Vacher · Steakpedia editorial voice · Who writes

Why go01

Bavette's Bar & Boeuf is Brendan Sodikoff's steakhouse on Kinzie Street, opened in 2012 by his group Hogsalt, the people behind Au Cheval and Gilt Bar. Time Out puts it at no. 1 on its list of Chicago steakhouses. It was no. 77 in the World's 101 Best Steak Restaurants 2025 and no. 14 in the North America ranking of December 2025. It does not appear in the 2026 list. En Primeur Club describes a 1920s supper club: exposed brick, mismatched pendant lamps, tobacco-coloured Chesterfield sofas. Time Out adds jazz-era music. A second Bavette's runs in Las Vegas, at the Park MGM.

What to order02

  • RibeyeBone-in dry-aged ribeye
  • TenderloinBone-in filet mignon
  • Steak frites with béarnaise
Ageddry
Firenot stated
BreedBlack Angus
Gradenot stated
Pricenot stated
Opened2012

02What to order

03The beef

At its 2012 opening the beef was Black Angus: a bone-in filet mignon and a Prime ribeye dry-aged in house. Today's sources are less tidy. En Primeur Club says the steaks are wet-aged, then lists a dry-aged bone-in ribeye in the same profile; the source contradicts itself. No source gives days of ageing, a producer or a feeding regime. What can be stated is short. Black Angus, Prime for the ribeye, and dry-ageing for at least that cut. Beyond steak, Time Out names the fried chicken; En Primeur Club adds crab cake with remoulade, truffle mac and cheese and a raw bar.

04The fire

En Primeur Club says the cuts are cooked under a broiler, without naming the equipment. The official site does not say.

05The story

Tasting Table presented it in August 2012 as Sodikoff's newest, after Gilt Bar, Maude's and Au Cheval. Hogsalt now also runs Small Cheval, Doughnut Vault, Ciccio Mio and Sawada. Sources disagree on who leads the kitchen. Time Out (May 2025) says Brad Skougard oversees it; En Primeur Club names chef Ben Truesdell. En Primeur Club also reports a Michelin Plate in 2024 and 2025, not confirmed by Steakpedia in the guide itself.

06The practical

Temporarily closed. The official Chicago site says Bavette's will reopen in mid-November, with no date, year or reason given; check the site before planning. When open: Monday to Thursday from 3:45 pm, Friday to Sunday from 2:45 pm, until close. Reservations open 21 days ahead, each new date at 9 am. The bar takes walk-ins for the full menu. Below the dining room, The Parlor has its own bar: 48 seated or 50 standing. 218 W Kinzie St; phone 312.624.8154; valet at 230 W Kinzie. En Primeur Club estimates US$100–150 a head. The number: 21 days, for booking; the sources give none for ageing.

Address
218 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone
+1 312-624-8154
Website
bavettessteakhouse.com
Directions
Google Maps ↗

Is Bavette's in Chicago open?

Not at the moment. The official site says it is temporarily closed and will reopen in mid-November, without giving a date or a reason.

How far ahead can you book Bavette's?

Reservations open 21 days in advance, with each new date released at 9 am. The bar takes walk-ins for the full menu.

Are the steaks at Bavette's dry-aged?

The opening menu had a Prime ribeye dry-aged in house, and a dry-aged bone-in ribeye is still cited. No source gives the number of days.

Is Bavette's on the World's 101 Best Steak Restaurants list?

It was no. 77 in 2025, but it does not appear in the 2026 list.

07Sources

timeout.com · abc7chicago.com · wgntv.com · bavettessteakhouse.com · tastingtable.com · enprimeurclub.com · bavettessteakhouse.com · robbreport.com.my · bavettessteakhouse.com · hogsalt.com · timeout.com
Last verified 25 Oct 2026.